Everyones a Winner

Or so it seemed for OMS drivers today at the Montague Burton Trophy meeting at Harewood Hillclimb.

First of the winning collective was Les Procter in the recently upgraded OMS S/C 1600, beating his closest opposition by a whole second, he won comfortably with a time of 57.35 seconds.

Next came the 1100cc single seater class fielding four OMS drivers, 1st place went to Graham Smith (OMS 2000M), 2nd Simon Bailey (OMS 2000M) and 3rd Fergus Duncan (OMS 2000M).

The competative 1600cc single seater class included seven OMS drivers and it was clear from first timed runs that FTD would come from this class. Mr & Mrs OMS were having a particularly good days motorsport today, both setting personal best times with their OMS 25. Catherine Elliott shared the family OMS 2000M with fellow Jerseyman Mick Lancashire, whilst her husband Steve Elliott spannered for the day. This was the first time Mick had driven the OMS & he put in a fastest time of 57.21 seconds, his personal best time at the venue in any of the cars he has driven here. Cath also set a PB with 59.58 seconds and was absolutely delighted.

Last class of the day was the up to 2 litre single seaters with only two competitors, John Chacksfield in his OMS CF04 Vauxhall and Jerseyman Jason Mourant with his OMS CF08 supercharged Hayabusa. Class honours went to Jason.

Fastest Time of Day and class win went to Steve Owen (OMS 25) with a time of 52.98 seconds, the only driver in the 52's all day, 2nd FTD Peter Newton 53.40, 3rd FTD and class win Jason Mourant 53.70 seconds.

Following a very changable morning of sunshine and showers, the afternoon timed runs took place in glorious sunshine, much to everyone's relief, with all competitors completing 2 practice and 3 timed runs. Prize giving concluded the meeting and by 6.20pm all competitors were on their way home, a good days motorsport indeed.

Date: 7/08/2011 | Author: L.Owen