All Together Now

The last gathering of the British Hillclimb and Midland Hill Climb Championship event took place at Loton Park over the weekend, to decide the final championship positions for 2017.

One man was missing from the gathering, Tony Fletcher who sadly passed away a couple of weeks ago. Tony was a stalwart of the UK hill climb scene. He and his wife Maureen co-ordinated the Midland Hill Climb Championship and the MSA British Hillclimb Championship until Tony retired at the end of the 2011 season. As a mark of respect all competitors, marshals and officials joined together in a minutes silence to remember Tony.

Competition across the weekend was fierce; with some sensational times being set as the track was recently resurfaced. Class records fell, though the outright hill record remained unchanged.

Team OMS had another good showing across the classes. 1100cc racers Steve Owen and Harry Pick fought for class honours with some of the fastest 1100 drivers in the UK. Robert Kenrick took the class win with Steve Owen second on 47.70s and Harry fourth on 48.14s a new PB for Harry. John Stockley dipped under the 50 second barrier for the first time with his OMS 2000M 1100, setting a new personal best time of 49.96 seconds.

Harry Pick OMS 2000M: photo T Wilson

Former OMS 28 1100 drivers Simon Andrews and Bernie Kevil are currently driving a Van Diemen RF90 whilst their new OMS 28 V8 is being built. In the ten car strong Formula Ford class, Simon and Bernie finished 5th and 6th respectively having both set new PB's with the car.

Only two OMS cars featured in the 1600cc racing car class, South West competitors Neal Coles and Ian Tucker. Both driving OMS CF models, Neal finished fourth in class with a new PB time of 50.58 and Ian finished fifth on 57.66s

Ian Tucker OMS CF07: photo T Wilson

Leader of the normally aspirated 2.0 litre class following the morning timed runs, Terry Davis in his OMS CF09 set a new PB in the afternoon of 49.18s though it wasn't quite fast enough to hold onto first place: he finished fourth overall. Tricia Davis was disappointed that she couldn't match her pace from earlier in the season, her best run time in the OMS CF09 51.79s left her outside of a points scoring position: though this didn't stop her from finishing the season as the highest placed female driver in the Avon Tyres/TTC Group MSA Hillclimb Leaders Championship.

Tricia Davis OMS CF09: photo T Wilson

Lee Griffiths was unable to defend his overall position in the Hillclimb Leaders Championship, following an engine problem with his turbo charged OMS 25 during Saturday practice. All ended well for Lee as other drivers didn't improve their points tally sufficiently to snatch Lee's top ten placing away from him: he finished eighth overall, his best season in the Leaders Championship.

Lee Griffiths OMS 25: photo T Wilson

The unlimited capacity racing car class was won by Scott Moran, with Trevor finishing third behind Jason Mourant. Paul Crute has had his best season ever with the 3000cc Jaguar V6 powered OMS 28. He set a new PB time of 52.35s on his second timed run.

Paul Crute OMS 28: photo T Wilson

Sam Wilson made his Loton Park debut in the 600cc OMS Hornet he drove earlier in the season at Harewood. He got down to a very respectable 57.32s, securing the final upgrade signature he needs to obtain a national 'A' speed licence for next season.

Sam Wilson OMS Hornet: photo T Wilson

In the final two BHC run offs of the season, Steve Owen and Trevor Willis qualified for each run off, whilst Harry Pick qualified for the second run off. In the first Steve set a new PB time in the 1100cc OMS 28 finishing ninth on 47.06 seconds and Trevor finished second to current BHC Champion Scott Moran.

Steve Owen OMS 28: photo T Wilson

The afternoon run off saw all three drivers score BHC points as all they finished in the top ten. Trevor took the win on 44.16s with Steve finishing seventh on 47.76s and Harry ninth on 48.45s

Trevor is crowned MSA British Hillclimb Champion 2017 whilst Harry shares the honour of being the highest placed competitor who has never previously scored points in the British Championship with Debbie Dunbar: they each scored six points this season.

Trevor Willis OMS 28: photo T Wilson

Congratulations to all OMS drivers who have won awards in 2017 and we look forward to seeing you all next year on the hills.

Loton Park results can be found here and BHC point's tables can be found by clicking here. Run times and splits can be found here.

Date: 25/09/2017 | Author: L.Owen