Glad All Over

Is how team OMS would probably sum up their weekend at Prescott Hillclimb. Returning to the venue after the appalling season opener in April when torrential rain decimated the weekend, drivers were relieved to see sunshine as they arrived on the Friday afternoon.

As the Avon Tyres MSA British Hillclimb Championship & TTC Group MSA Leaders Hillclimb Championships move into the final rounds of the season, the pressure is increasing for those drivers heading up these leader boards. Even the weather cranked up the pressure during the event with light rain on Saturday for first practice runs, followed by intermittent rain on Sunday which ultimately played havoc with the second British Hillclimb Championship Top 12 Run Off.

It was good to see Anne & Mark Goodyear back on the hills in the David Oldridge 600cc Hornet that is also being campaigned at a number of events this season by returning hillclimber Gary Hill. The 1100cc single seater class had the usual suspects of Simon Andrews, Bernard Kevill, Lindsey & Richard Summers & Clive Austin battling between them for the highest placed OMS in class. Simon was the victor on his first timed run with a time of 41.39 seconds.

1600cc regulars Lee Griffiths, Lynn & Steve Owen upheld OMH honours in class J2, Steve finished in 4th place with Lynn & Lee just outside of a Leaders points scoring position in 7th & 8th overall. All three drivers qualified for the run offs, with Steve putting in a splendid time of 38.92 seconds on his class opener to bag a place in run off one. During second timed runs rain began to fall as class J2 were commencing their runs. Lynn & Lee seized the opportunity knowing that the track was not yet wet enough for it to slow cars down, Lynn’s time of 42.25 was ultimately quick enough to qualify 6th fastest with Lee qualifying behind her in 9th on a 43.03 Single seaters up to 2.0 ltr saw two OMS drivers score Leaders championship points, Tim Elmer finished 4th in class & Andy McBeath 6th. 

Trevor Willis won class L the unlimited single seater class, with his morning run of 36.79 seconds. This time placed him top qualifier for the first of the Avon Tyres MSA British Hillclimb championship run offs. Trevor optimised his final running position with a winning time of 36.24 seconds which also set a new hill record & Fastest Time of the day, giving him a maximum score to consolidate his position at the top of the championship table. His afternoon qualifier was a less straight forward affair. Running after a rain shower that thoroughly wetted the track, it looked very unlikely that any of the cars competing in class L would qualify. Trevor’s rival for the championship Scott Moran did not make the cut, but Trevor in his usual determined fashion managed a time of 43.83 seconds just enough to snatch 11th place in the run off to join Lynn Owen & Lee Griffiths who had out qualified him.

On a track that was beginning to dry, Trevor was the second car on the hill. He set a stunning time of 41.64 seconds that would outpace all but the Raptor of Jos Goodyear who ran last, on a track that was drying quickly as the run off progressed. Lynn finished 9th and bagged her first championship points of the season whilst Lee finished behind her in 10th taking the last championship point.

Trevor still sits at the top of the points table, but with 4 more rounds to contest & drop scores to calculate it is still possible for either Trevor or Scott to win the championship. Doune Hillclimb in Scotland on the 16 September could be the decider in this closely fought season long battle.

Date: 2/09/2012 | Author: L.Owen