Happy Feeling

Loton Park

Avon Tyres/TTC Group MSA British and Hillclimb Leaders Championship

BMTR Tyres Midland Hillclimb Championship

June 2014 no.1

Willis Sets Fastest Time of Day in the V8 powered OMS 28

Trevor Willis added a further fastest time of day to his 2014 tally, with his time of 44.56 seconds set during the morning round of the British Hillclimb Championship run off at Loton Park in Shropshire. During the run he slid the V8 powered OMS 28 into view at Fletchers Dellow in determined style,  powering down into Triangle bend to set the fastest split time of all the runners 17.22 seconds. The car could be heard on full song up Cedar Straight and as the clock stopped on 44.56, Trevor also added his sixth run off win to his score card for 2014.

The afternoon run off was the moment when championship rival Scott Moran dug deep to find that bit extra to take the win from Trevor who finished in second place. These two drivers head the leader board as the British Championship moves to Doune Hillclimb near Stirling for rounds 13 and 14.

Supercharged OMS 28 in British Run Off

Neville Rollason was delighted to have qualified for the second run off in his new OMS 28. Nev is no stranger to British Hillclimb run offs having been there on a number of occasions in his 1600cc OMS 25. He was joint 12th qualifier with Susan Young, their time of 49.65 meant that 13 drivers would compete in what is usually a 12 driver run off.

A missed gear selection before the first corner lost Neville time and unsettled his run, leaving him outside of the points in the final standings. Still, a great performance from him throughout the weekend showing the car's potential.

1600cc OMS 28 in British Run Offs

Steve Owen qualified for both of the run offs this weekend at Loton Park: his first this season in the British Hillclimb Championship. Steve's time of 47.79 seconds in run off one snatched 10th place and put him on the points table. However in the second run off, a broken CV bolt resulted in Steve stopping the car on Cedar Straight, leading to a no score.

1100cc Class

This 15 strong class fielded five OMS drivers: Simon Andrews and Bernie Kevill OMS 28, Anne and Mark Goodyear OMS Hornet and Forrest Eyles OMS CF.

Simon finished second in class on 50.88, 13/100ths adrift of class hotshot Chris Aspinall. Mark Goodyear took third on 51.41 with both drivers finishing ahead of last seasons' class champion Simon Fidoe.

600cc Class

OMS Hornet driver Gary Hill and his co-driver this season Harry Pick, took a class one-two on 54.51 nad 56.19 seconds respectively. Novice competitor Harry is still learning the craft of hillclimbing and a badly timed light shower of rain just before he was about to take his second competition run, left Harry uncertain about track conditions. Although quicker than his morning run, he would certainly have wished to drop into the 55's.

OMS 28 Driver is Man of the Meeting

Simon Andrews was named as the Midland Hillclimb Championship Man of the Meeting for his excellent drive in the new 1000cc OMS 28. He will receive his award at the annual dinner in the autumn. Well done Simon.

1600cc Class

Try as he might, Steve Owen could not quite get down to his Loton Park PB in the OMS 28 and settled for second in class to Richard Spedding. Their times of 47.85 and 47.28 seconds were set during morning competition; both drivers were a little slower in the afternoon.

Lynn Owen had a failed first run. Having arrived at Museum Bend quickly but off line, she lost it under braking for the corner and a marker cone prevented her from pulling the car around and continuing the run. Lynn's second run of 51.60 was only good enough for fifth in class, but will secure her Hillclimb Leaders and Midland Hillclimb Championship class points.

John Stockley snatched 6th in class and the final championship points with his time of 52.24 seconds in the OMS 2000M. Just behind him were Steve Spiers in the OMS CF04 and a newcomer to the class Mark Dalton. Mark  competed last season in the B Licence class with his OMS 2000M and has graduated to the national class for the 2014 season.

2000cc Class

Only two OMS cars were competing in this class of 12 runners this weekend: Neville Rollason in the supercharged OMS 28 and Guernseyman Geoff Guille in the ex-Trevor Willis Vauxhall powered OMS CF04.

Nev's time of 49.65 placed him 5th in class with Geoff finishing 7th on a time of 51.54 seconds.


Neville Rollason OMS 28s

Unlimited Capacity Class

Trevor Willis won this class with his morning run of 44.87 seconds. Fellow OMS driver Jason Mourant drove his PowerTec V8 powered OMS 25 for the first time at the venue since changing from a supercharged 1300cc to a V8 engine. He is still adjusting the car to his liking and his best time of the weekend was a 51.03


To view times and splits from the meeting please click here.

To view results please click here.

To view British and Leaders Championship positions click here.

Date: 9/06/2014 | Author: L.Owen