2015 Australian Hillclimb Championship Weekend

Hill climb competitors from across Australia will be competing for top honours at their National Hillclimb Championship event taking place this year in Western Australia. The venue, Jack's Hill at the Barbagallo Raceway on the outskirts of Perth, is the setting for the three day shoot out to see who will be crowned Australian Hillclimb Champion 2015.

Defending champion Malcolm Oastler has travelled the 3,800km to Perth, in the hope of taking a second title with his OMS 28 1300t. But Friday's practice left Malcolm well down the order at the close of day, having only completed one practice run.

Two more OMS drivers were placed in the top eight fastest Friday practice times: Peter Morley in his OMS CF10 and Gareth George in an OMS 2000M.

Saturday saw the first day of competition runs with the overall Hillclimb Championship result being based on Saturday and Sunday's runs. At the close of play Malcolm had once again found the form that won him the CAMS NSW Hillclimb Championship title this season. He finished at the top of the leader board with his time 44.56s some 1.30s ahead of second placed Gary West (Pilbeam MP82) on 45.86s. Peter Morley held onto third fastest overall with his best run time 48.74 seconds.

Good luck to Malcolm, Peter and Gareth for tomorrow's event.

Date: 7/11/2015 | Author: L.Owen