Playing to Win

Craigantlet Hill Climb on the outskirts of Belfast was the venue for rounds three and four of the Avon Tyres/ TTC Group MSA British Hillclimb Championship, on Saturday 29th April.

Trevor Willis driving his OMS 28 RPE arrived with a full twenty championship points having won rounds one and two the preceding weekend at Prescott.

Trevor Willis OMS 28 RPE on his way to two more outright wins: photo T Wilson

Dave Uren set fastest time during practice with the Gould GR55B, but slipped back a few places in the run offs.

Round three of the BHC saw Trevor top the board on 40.37s four tenths ahead of second place man Wallace Menzies 40.74s and in third place Dave Uren on 40.81 seconds. Lee Griffiths (OMS 25 1300T) visited the Irish Hill for the first time and qualified for the first run off, finishing in tenth position and scoring his first BHC points of the season.

With identical top three placing's in round four and Trevor winning once again, it puts him firmly at the top of the BHC points table with a maximum score of 40 points. Trevor's time 40.38s nearly identical to his morning climb, put him three parts of a second ahead of Wallace Menzies 40.72s with Dave Uren third on 41.96s.

Lee Griffiths qualified for round four and finished 8th, scoring his highest number of BHC points in an event.

Lee Griffiths OMS 25 1300t: photo T Wilson

Local drivers Chris Houston (OMS CF08), Brendan Flynn (OMS PR) and Thomas Corey (OMS Hornet) were competing in Round 2 of the ANICC Millers Oils Hillclimb Championship. Chris ran in the same class as all the 1600cc and over BHC single seaters finishing highest placed local driver with his best run time of 46.53 seconds.

Chris Houston OMS CF08: photo T Wilson

Brendan finished in second place behind BHC contender Darren Gumbley with his brand new 1100cc Force.

Brendan Flynn OMS PR: photo T Wilson

To view the final results click here and for British Hillclimb Championship points and results click here.

Date: 2/05/2017 | Author: L.Owen