OMS Racing car drivers consolidated their championship positions at the weekend, when the MSA British Hillclimb and Hillclimb Leaders Championship along with the BMTR Midland Hill Climb Championship visited Loton Park.

Trevor Willis continued to build on his lead at the top of the BHC points table with a second place finish in round 9. However the weather wasn't consistent across all timed runs on Sunday and some drivers were caught in rain showers, putting an end to any hopes of a quick time. Trevor fell foul of these changing conditions in round 10 running in the wet as other drivers took their runs in the dry, leaving Trevor in ninth place.

The 1100cc racing car class was the usual nip and tuck at the sharp end of the class, with OMS drivers Steve Owen and Harry Pick taking class honours for Leaders Championship points. In the morning's timed runs it was Steve Owen who took the win on 48.31s from Robert Kenrick 48.34s and Harry Pick 48.97s. Steve's time also qualified him for the round 9 run off in the BHC: he finished tenth scoring his first BHC point of the season.

The tables were turned in the afternoon following a rain shower as the shared drivers in this class ran. With drying conditions it was Harry Pick who took the win 49.12s with Steve Owen finishing in third on 49.35s. Harry now leads class I in the Leaders Hillclimb Championship, with Steve in joint second place on equal points with Simon Fidoe.

Steve Owen OMS 28: photo T Wilson

Simon Andrews OMS 28 1100, finished just outside of a points scoring position. He and co-driver Bernie Kevill had sold their car earlier in the day and neither wished to visit the scenery in the tricky conditions. Lynn Owen OMS 28 1100, had a lock up going into Hall bend that cost her dearly on the first timed run and then she was caught in the afternoon runs' rain shower, leaving her well down the field.

1600cc racers included Neal Coles with his CF04, Ian Tucker in his CF07 and Mark Dalton with the 2000M. Neal continues to lower his run times as he gets to grips with the car, finishing on 51.88 seconds. Like Lynn before him, Ian had a poor first run and then damp conditions for his second run.

Ian Tucker OMS CF07: photo T Wilson

The normally aspirated 2.0 litre racing car class fielded two OMS drivers: Trish and Terry Davis. Driving their OMS CF09 Terry finished third in each timed run, adding to his already healthy Leaders Championship points score. Trish was also in the points finishing fourth and sixth respectively to extend her lead as the highest placed lady in the Leaders Championship.

Trish Davis OMS CF09: photo T Wilson

For final results click here, for splits and times click here and for BHC points tables click here.

Date: 12/06/2017 | Author: L.Owen